It seems to me that a lot of people have these ‘blogs’ and ‘tumblrs’ on which they promote their ‘philosophies’, of ‘be happy’ ‘love’ and ‘everything is fine and beautiful and we are all amazing’  etc etc, with lots of quotes and lovely pictures. It seems to me like this is mostly an attempt to convince themselves of these things; that they have worth and life is worth living.

If they keep repeating these things, maybe they will eventually come to accept and believe. It would be nice if they did.

I don’t mean to promote any individual message or philosophy. But I recently read a book called The Heart Is A Lonely Hunter. Here is a poem about the author.

Carson McCullers

Charles Bukowski

she died of alcoholism
wrapped in a blanket
on a deck chair
on an ocean
steamer.

all her books of
terrified loneliness

all her books about
the cruelty
of loveless love

were all that was left
of her

as the strolling vacationer
discovered her body

notified the captain

and she was quickly dispatched
to somewhere else
on the ship

as everything
continued just
as
she had written it

How lovely is that? It would be lovely if somebody loved me enough to write a poem about them (I wrote a poem about somebody once, it’s called The Ballad Of The Blak Lord or something like that. It’s just a fun little ditty, no real merit outside of the subject. I was going to send it to them, but by the time I got round to it I sent them something else instead).

The book was a good read. Someone told me that it was the best book they’d ever read, but it didn’t tell me anything that I didn’t know. Namely that you’re not alone in feeling alone. You might find someone with which you can be less alone, but nothing gold can stay. O quam cito transit gloria mundi. You’re going to die alone.

So the message here is, I suppose, deal with it.

